Indian Constitution: Schedules

Schedules are lists in the Constitution that categorize and tabulate the bureaucratic activity and policy of the Government. The Indian Constitution originally had eight schedules. Four more schedules were added by different amendments, now making a total tally of twelve.

First Schedule
Articles 1 and 4
I – The States.
II. – The Union territories.
Second Schedule
Articles 59(3), 65(3), 75(6), 97, 125, 148(3), 158(3), 164 (5), 186 and 221
PART A –  Provisions as to the President and the Governors of States.
PART B – Repealed
PART C –   Provisions as to the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of   the House of  the    People   and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of   the Council   of      States   and   the  Speaker  and  the  Deputy Speaker  of  the   Legislative Assembly and the Chairman  and the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative  Council of a State
PART D – Provisions as to the Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts.
PART E – Provisions as to the Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.
Third Schedule
Articles 75(4), 99, 124(6), 148(2), 164(3), 188 and 219
Forms of Oaths or Affirmations.
Fourth Schedule
Articles 4(1) and 80(2)
Allocation of seats in the Council of States.
Fifth Schedule
Article 244(1)
Provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled  Areas and Scheduled TribesPART A – General.
PART B – Administration and  Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
PART C – Scheduled Areas.
PART D – Amendment of the Schedule.
Sixth Schedule
Articles 244(2) and 275(1)
Provisions as to the Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.
Seventh Schedule
Article 246
List I – Union List.
List II –  State List.
List III – Concurrent List.
Eighth Schedule
Articles 344 (1) and 351
List of Recognised Languages
Ninth Schedule
Article 31B
Validation of certain Acts and Regulations.
Tenth Schedule
Articles 102(2) and 191(2)
Provisions as to disqualification on ground of defection.
Eleventh Schedule
Article 243G
Powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats.
Twelfth Schedule
Article 243W
Powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities, etc.
Short cut to remember all 12 Schedules of the Indian Constitution
Short cut to remember all 12 Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Short cut to remember all 12 Schedules of the Indian Constitution


  1. T – Territory
  2. E – Emoluments
  3. A – Affirmation/Oaths
  4. R – Rajya Sabha
  5. S – Scheduled Areas
  6. O – Other Scheduled Areas
  7. F – Federal Provisions (3 lists)
  8. O – Official Languages
  9. L – Land reforms
  10. D – Defection
  11. P – Panchayats
  12. M – Municipalities

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *