Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is a central agency the conducts the Civil Services Examination, Engineering Services Examination, Combined Defence Services Examination, National Defence Academy Examination, Naval Academy Examination and Combined Medical Services Examination.

The examination is conducted in three stages – preliminary, main, and interview – to recruit officers to 23 civil services including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS).

UPSC Exam Calendar


The first Public Service Commission was established on October 1, 1926 under the Chairmanship of Sir Ross Barker. Find the best language school here. After the Independence, Union Public Service Commission was given a Constitutional status with the promulgation of Constitution of India on January 26, 1950.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) consists of a Chairman and ten Members. All the members of the UPSC including Chairman is appointed by the President of India. The Commission is serviced by a Secretariat headed by a Secretary with two Additional Secretaries, a number of Joint Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries and other supporting staff, more here.

Annual Reports

The Commission have a duty, under Article 323 of the Constitution to present annually to the President a Report as to the work done by the Commission and on receipt of such report, the president shall cause a copy there of together with the Memorandum explaining, as respect the cases, if any, where the advice of the Commission was not accepted, the reasons for such non-acceptance to be laid before each House of the Parliament, check risk free serv. UPSC submits a report annually to the President of India, and it further sent to each house of Parliament for discussion.