This Day in History on 13th May

The historical events hold a lot of value for aspirants who are sitting for UPSC competitive exams including the IAS Exam. 

On this page, we will list all historical events that occurred on the 13th of May. The students can refer to them while preparing for all competitive exams and banking exams.

Important Days

  • Rotuma Day (Rotuma)

Important Events

1648: Construction of the Red Fort at Dehli was completed.

1791: Lord Cornwallis retreated back to Madras after the battle of Arikera.

1880: Thomas Alva Edison tested the electric train at Menlo Park, New Jersey.

1939: The first commercial FM radio station in the United States launched.

1949: Maharashtra Granthalay Sangh was established.

Dr Zakhir Hussain became 3rd President of India, 1st Muslim President of Indian Union
Dr Zakhir Hussain became 3rd President of India, 1st Muslim President of Indian Union

1952: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru again becomes the Prime Minister of India and forms a new union ministry.

1950: The first race of the Formula One World Championship took place at Silverstone.

1952: The first session of the Rajya Sabha of India convened.

1953: The first Indian Navy air station INS Garuda was commissioned at Venduruthy, the naval base in Cochin.

1956: Acharya Vinoba Bhave started the Bhoodan campaign in Tiruvellore.

1962: Bharat Ratna, India’s highest award, was given to Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963).

1962: Dr Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) retired from the post of first President.

1962: Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) became the second President of India. He held this office till May 13, 1967.

1962: Dr Zakir Hussain became the Vice President (1962-67).

Lara Dutta
Lara Dutta

1967: Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) retired from the post of second President.

1967: Dr Zakhir Hussain became the 3rd President of India. He was the first Muslim President of the Indian Union. He held this position till August 24, 1969.

1970: Choreographer Sitaradevi set a world record for dancing for 11 hours and 45 minutes at the Birla Matoshri Hall in Mumbai.

1971: General Insurance nationalised.

1994: Telecom sector opened to private companies under the new national policy announced in Parliament.

1995: Alison Hargreaves became the first woman to climb Mount Everest without the help of Oxygen or Sherpa.

1997: Doordarshan drops plans to enter the direct-to-home (DTH) mode of television transmission.

1998: India carried out two nuclear weapons tests at Pokhran, following the three conducted on May 11. 

2000: Lara Dutta (21), who said beauty pageants give women a platform to ”voice our choices and opinions” is named Miss Universe 2000 in the Cyprus capital Nicosia.

2000: A bill to restructure Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Madhya Pradesh to form Uttaranchal, Jharkhand, and Chhattisgarh, respectively, was approved by the Union Cabinet.

Birthday / Anniversary

1857: Sir Ronald Ross, bacteriologist, a member of the Indian Medical service, Nobel awardee and editor of ‘Science Progress’, was born at Almora, UP.

1883: Henk JFM Sneevliet, leader RSAP/editor Spartacus (Dutch-Indies), was born.

1905: Fakruddin Ali Ahmed, the fifth President of India, was born in Delhi.

1916: Vasudev Mahadev Salgaonkar, the great Industrialist, was born.

Fakruddin Ali Ahmed, the fifth President of India,
Fakruddin Ali Ahmed, the fifth President of India,

1916: Sachidananda Routray, Indian Oriya-language poet (d. 2004)

1918: Tanjore Balasaraswati, Indian dancer and instructor (d. 1984)

1923: Moinul Haque Choudhury, the social reformer and politician, was born at Sonabarighat (Assam).

1951: Anand Modak, Indian composer and director (d. 2014)

1956: Shri Shri Ravi Shankar, an Indian spiritual leader.

1969: Asaduddin Owaisi, an Indian politician, is the President of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM). 

1979: Amruta Subhash, an Indian actress.

1984: Benny Dayal, Indian singer

Sukanta Bhattacharya, Indian poet and playwright
Sukanta Bhattacharya, Indian poet and playwright

Death / Death Anniversary

1903: Apolinario Mabini, the first Prime Minister of the Philippines.

1947: Sukanta Bhattacharya, Indian poet and playwright (b. 1926)

2001: R. K. Narayan, an Indian writer.

2013: Jagdish Mali, Indian photographer (b. 1954)

Further Reading

Month-wise This Day in History

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *