The Nobel Prize is widely regarded as the most prestigious award available in the fields of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, and economics.

2022 Nobel Prize Winners

2019 Nobel Prize Winners list

Important Points

  • Most coveted international award of the world.
  • Instituted by Alfred Bernard Nobel (inventor of dynamite).
  • The award is given on December 10 (death anniversary of Alfred Bernard Nobel).

Nobel Prize is given every year to those eminent persons who have made pioneering achievements in the following fields:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Peace
  • Literature
  • Economics

Apart from Economics, all other categories have been given since 1901. Economics Nobel Prize was instituted in 1967 and was first given in 1969.

Nobel Laureates of IndiaFieldYear
Rabindranath TagoreLiterature 1913
C.V. RamanPhysics 1930
Mother TeresaPeace 1979
Amartya SenEconomic Studies1998
Kailash SatyarthiPeace2014

Laureates will receive a Nobel Prize diploma, a Nobel Prize medal and a document detailing the Nobel Prize amount, which this year amounts to 10 million Swedish krona, or about $900,000 in the current exchange rate