Nobel Prize 2019

2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

William G. Kaelin Jr., Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza won the 2019 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine. The trio “identified molecular machinery that regulates the activity of genes in response to varying levels of oxygen,” according to The Nobel Assembly. 
William G. Kaelin Jr., Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza

2019 Nobel Prize in Physics

James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz

James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz won the 2019 Nobel Prize in physics. Peebles, of Princeton University, received half of the award, per the Nobel Assembly, for work focused on “theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology,” while Mayor and Queloz, of the University of Geneva (and, for Queloz, Cambridge University) shared half the award “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.”

2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino won the 2019 Nobel Prize in chemistry. The three scientists have all worked to develop and advance lithium-ion batteries

2019 Nobel Prize in Literature

Austrian novelist and playwright Peter Handke won the 2019 Nobel Prize in literature “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience,” according to the Nobel Assembly. Polish author Olga Tokarczuk won the 2018 Nobel Prize in literature “for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life,” the Assembly said. The two awards were both given out this year because last year’s announcement was canceled in the midst of sexual assault allegations.

2019 Nobel Peace Prize

The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed for his work to bring an end to a long-running border dispute between his country and neighboring Eritrea.

Abiy Ahmed
Abiy Ahmed

2019 Prize in Economic Sciences

The 2019 Prize in economic sciences will be announced on Monday, Oct. 14.

About Nobel Prize

  • Most coveted international award in the world.
  • Instituted by Alfred Bernard Nobel (inventor of dynamite).
  • The award is given on December 10 (death anniversary of Alfred Bernard Nobel).

Nobel Prize is given every year to those eminent persons who have made pioneering achievements in the following fields:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Peace
  • Literature
  • Economics

Apart from Economics, all other categories have been given since 1901. Economics Nobel Prize was instituted in 1967 and was first given in 1969.