It is an Integrated Conservation Mission for Ganga Rejuvenation by consolidating the existing ongoing efforts and planning for a concrete action plan for the future.

The program covers 8 states as Uttarakhand, U.P, Bihar, W.B, Jharkhand, M.P, Haryana, and Delhi.

It involves developments of Ghats and beautification of River Fronts at Kedarnath, Haridwar, Kanpur, Varanasi, Allahabad, Patna, and Delhi through a multi-sectoral, multi-dimensional approach.

Key Ministries involved in Ganga Rejuvenation – Ministry of WR, RD&GR, Environment, Forests & Climate Change, Shipping, Tourism, Urban Development, Drinking Water and Sanitation, and Rural Development.

Interventions taken under Namami Ganga includes:

  1. Sustainable Municipal Sewage management (Coordination with Ministry of Urban Development).
  2. Managing Sewage from Rural Areas.
  3. Managing Industrial discharge and pollution abatement
  4. Enforcing River Regulatory Zones on Ganga Banks, Restoration and conservation of wetlands, efficient irrigation methods.
  5. Ensuring ecological rejuvenation by conservation of aquatic life and biodiversity.
  6. Promotion of Tourism and Shipping in a rational and sustainable manner.
  7. Knowledge Management on Ganga through Ganga Knowledge Centre.

    Under the aegis of National Mission for Clean Ganga (NMCG) & State Programme Management Groups (SPMGs) States and ULBs and PRIs will be involved in this project.

    Establishment of Clean Ganga Fund to encourage contributions from citizens for river conservation.

    The programme is 100% centrally funded.

    It is scheduled to be completed by 2020.

Also Read