Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790-1792)

In April 1790, Tipu declared war against Travancore for the restoration of his rights, and the English, siding with Travancore, attacked Tipu.

Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790-1792)
Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790-1792)

With support from Nizam and Marathas, Tipu was defeated. Under the Treaty of Seringapatam, nearly half of Mysore’s territory was taken over by the victors. Besides, war damage of three crore rupees was also taken from Tipu.


What happened in the third Anglo Mysore War?

In the Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790–92), Tipu Sultan, the ruler of Mysore and an ally of France, invaded the nearby state of Travancore in 1789 which was a British ally. British forces were commanded by Governor-General Cornwallis himself. The resultant war lasted three years and was a resounding defeat for Mysore.

Who won 3rd Anglo Mysore War?

Tipu’s expanding dominance enraged the Nizam and the Marathas, who joined the British. Tipu Sultan defeated General Meadows’ British troops in 1790. The English launched their first attack, which was a failure. Tipu fought the fight on his own for two years.

Who was the governor during 3rd Anglo war?

Lord Hastings served as the Governor-General of India from 1813 to 1823. It was during this time that the Third Anglo-Maratha war was fought between the East India Company and the Marathas.

Also, Read