This Day in History on 11 December

The historical events hold a lot of value for aspirants who are sitting for UPSC competitive exams including the IAS Exam.

On this page, we will list all historical events that occurred on 11 December. The students can refer to them while preparing for all competitive exams and banking exams.

Important Days

Indiana Day (United States)

Important Events

1687: Madras’ first presidency chartered with a Mayor s court as a Municipal Corporation.

1780: Goddard General, Bassein fort was captured near Bombay.

1816: Indiana became the 19th state of the United States.

1845: First battle between Britishers and Sikhs. In 1849, Punjab lost its independence. This is referred as the first Anglo-Sikh War.

1908: New law suspends trial by jury and increases penalties for ‘sedition’.

1930: C. V. Raman awarded Nobel Prize.

1941: Germany and Italy declared war against America. First Italy’s ruler Benito Mussolini and then Germany’s dictator Adolf Hitler made this announcement.

1946: Establishment of UNICEF.

1958: Wilson Jones became India’s first individual World Champion when he won the Amateur Billiards Championship.

1967: A magnitude 6.5 earthquake shook Koyna, killing at least 180 people and injuring 1,500 others.

1968: Indian born Har Govind Khorana receives the Nobel Price for medicine and physiology.

1971: The elite para-commandos and parachute battalions -India’s ‘Red Devils’, as they are affectionately called, have an unsurpassed ethos and elan of their own. 2 Para Battalion executed a superb airborne assault operation at Tangail in East Pakistan, which was the first of its kind in the subcontinent.

1972: Apollo 17, the sixth spacecraft in the Apollo mission, landed on the moon.

1986: The United Nations Children’s fund (UNICEF) completes 40 years of work on behalf of children (11-12-86).

1987: Rajiv Government defeats the first ever no-confidence motion.

1990: Naresh Chandra was appointed as the Cabinet Secretary of India. He held this office till 31-07-1992.

1990: T. N. Seshan appointed CEC, and Mohan Dharia Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.

1991: Murali Manohar Joshi, BJP President, sets out on ‘the Kanyakumari to Kashmir Ekta Yatra’ (unity march).

1991: The centre notifies the interim order of the Cauvery Water Disputes Tribunal directing Karnataka to release 205 tmc ft of water to Tamil Nadu.

1992: UP acquistion of land in Ayodhya quashed by Allahabad High Court.

1993: Shankar Dayal Sharma, President, inaugurates the extended new wing of Nagpur Vidhan Bhavan.

1994: H.D. Deve Gowda, Janata Dal leader, assumes office as CM of Karnataka.

1996: T. N. Seshan retires. M. S. Gill becomes the new election Chief Election Commissioner.

1998: Kavi Pradeep (84), poet who received 1998 Dadasaheb Phalke award, dies in Mumbai. He was a patriotic song writer and wrote several immortal Hindi film songs.

1999: Dr. M. L. Madhu, poet and translator, wins the Pushkin Gold Medal award.

1999: Leander Paes capped a brilliant year with his successive Challenger title, this time in Jaipur, beating Barry Cowan in the final.

1999: Gopalakrishna Gandhi, former High Commissioner to South Africa, is conferred the honorary doctorate by the University of Natal, Durban, South Africa.

2001: China joined the World Trade Organization (WTO).

2006: Astronaut Sunita William reached the ISS (International Space Station).

Subramania Bharati
Dilip Kumar

Birth/Birth Anniversary

1803: Hector Berlioz, a French Romantic composer.

1822: John Nicholson, a British Victorian era military officer known for his role in British India.

1843: Robert Koch, a Jewish born German physician, and microbiologist.

1872: Rajkhova Benudhar, modern Assamese poet, was born.

1876: Raobahadur Yeshwantrao Harishchandra Desai, famous architect, was born.

1881: Subramania Bharati was born at Ettaiyapuram.

Subhash Gupte

1882: Subramanian Bharathi, a Tamil writer, poet, journalist, Indian independence activist, social reformer, and polyglot.

1906: Mysore Gururaj Vijayasarathi, cricket Test umpire for 13 tests from 1951-60, was born in Karnataka.

1918: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, a Russian novelist, philosopher, historian, short story writer, and a political prisoner.

Salim Durani

1922: Dilip Kumar, is an Indian actor, producer, and philanthropist.

1926: Kamala Kant Pandey was born at Varanasi. He was the first Indian agriculture graduate to win the London Exhibition Scholarship. He was elected fellow of the Linnean Society of London in 1966. In 1975, he made the discovery of a “revolutionary technique in plant breeding”.

1929: Subhash Gupte, Indian cricketer (d. 2002)

1931: Rajneesh, also known as Osho, an Indian godman, mystic, and founder of the Rajneesh movement.

1934 – Salim Durani, Afghan-Indian cricketer

Pranab Mukherj

1935: Pranab Mukherjee, an Indian politician, and the 13th President of India.

1936: Rajagopala Chidambaram, an Indian Physicist.

1952: Venu Srinivasan, an Indian industrialist, and the Chairman of TVS Group.

1963: Kewalam Madhav Panikkar, veteran politician and famous historian, passed away.

Viswanathan Anand

1969: Viswanathan Anand, an Indian chess grandmaster, and former world chess champion.

1980: Jignesh Mevani, an Indian politician.

1882 – Subramania Bharati, Indian journalist and poet (d. 1921)

Death/ Death Anniversary

G. A. Kulkarni

1783: Raghunathrao Peshwa, 10th Peshwa of the Maratha Empire.

1928: Lewis Howard Latimer, an American inventor.

1938: Mahavir Prasad Dwivedi, famous Hindi litterateur and editor, passed away.

1976: Aliyawar Jung, former Governor of Maharashtra, died.

1978: Vincent du Vigneaud, an American biochemist.

Ravi Shankar

1987 – G. A. Kulkarni, Indian author and academic (b. 1923)

1988: Dr. Nagendra Singh, 74, President of the International Court of Justice, passed away in Hague.

1991: R. G. Sardesai, veteran journalist, died.

1998: Kavi Pradeep, an Indian poet, and songwriter.

Hema Upadhyay

2002: Nanabhoy Palkhivala, an Indian jurist, and liberal economist.

2004: M. S. Subbulakshmi, an Indian Carnatic singer from Madurai, Tamil Nadu.

2012: Pandit Ravi Shankar, an Indian musician and composer of Hindustani classical music.

2013: Sheikh Mussa Shariefi, Indian philosopher and scholar (b. 1942)

2015: Hema Upadhyay, Indian painter and sculptor (b. 1972)

Further Reading

Month-wise This Day in History