It is a social security and welfare programme to provide support to aged persons, widows, disabled persons and bereaved families on death of primary bread winner, belonging to below poverty line households.

It comprises of five schemes, namely –
(1) Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS),
(2) Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS),
(3) Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS),
(4) National Family Benefit Scheme NFBS) and
(5) Annapurna.

Under NSAP 100% Central Assistance is extended to the States/UTs to provide the benefits in accordance with the norms, guidelines and conditions laid down by the Central Government.