List of Space Centres and Units in India
List of Space Centres and Units in India

Why Indian Space Research centres:

  • For design and development of launch vehicles and related technologies for providing access to space.
  • Design and development of satellites and related technologies for earth observation, communication, navigation, meteorology and space science.
  • Space based Applications for Societal development.
  • Research and Development in space science and planetary exploration.
Indian Space Research Centers & Units
LocationSpace Centres
New DelhiDOS branch secretariat
ISRO branch office
Delhi earth station
DehradunIndian Institute of Remote Sensing
Centre for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia-Pacific (CSSTEAP)
ByalaluIndian Deep Space Network (IDSN)
Indian Space Science Data Centre (ISSDC)
LucknowISTRAC Ground Station
KolkataEastern RRCC
AluvaAmmonium Perchlorate Experimental Plant
BhopalMaster Control Facility-B (MCF)
ChandigarhSemi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL)
ShillongNorth Eastern Space Application Centre
HyderabadNRSA or NRSC – National Remote Sensing Agency /Centre
TirupatiNMRF-National Atmospheric Research Laboratory
SriharikotaSatish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), SHAR
Port BlairDown Range Station
Mahendra GiriISRO Propulsion Complex
ThiruvananthapuramVikram Sarabhai Space Centre
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre
ISRO Inertial Systems Unit
Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)
HassanMaster Control Facility
BangloreSpace Commission
Department of Space and ISRO Headquarters
Civil Engineering Programme Office
U R Rao Satellite Centre (URSC)
Laboratory for Electro-Optical Systems (LEOS)
Southern RRSC
Human Space Flight Centre (HSFC)
INSAT Program Office
NNRMS Secretariat- National Natural Resources Management System
Antrix Corporation
ISTRAC-ISRO Telemetry Tracking and Command Network
New Space India Limited (NSIL)
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre
MumbaiISRO Liaison office
NagpurCentral RRSC-Regional Remote Sensing Centre
Mount AbuInfrared Observatory
AhmedabadSpace Application Centre (SAC)
Physical Research Laboratory (PRL)
Development & Educational Communication Unit (DECU)
JodhpurWestern RRSC – Regional Remote Sensing Centre
UdaipurSolar Observatory

Indian Space Research centres – Salient Points

  1. The first Indian to travel in space was Squadron Leader Rakesh Sharma (Soyuz T-11 Vehicle).
  2. The first Indian Origin (American) woman in Space was Kalpana Chawla.
  3. World’s first artificial satellite Sputnik 1 was launched by the USSR October 4, 1957.
  4. ISRO made Aryabhatta – the Indian satellite was launched on April 19th, 1975, by the USSR.
  5. The first person to walk in space was Alexei Leonov.
  6. Neil Armstrong is the first person to walk on the Moon.
  7. The first animal sent to space was Laika, the Soviet space dog. It was sent through Sputnik-2 vehicle by the USSR.
  8. Yuri A. Gagarin was the first person to go to space through Vostok 1 vehicle.
  9. The first woman to reach Space through Vostok-6 vehicle was Valentina Tereshkova. She went on June 16, 1963.