It enables NRIs and overseas scientific community to participate and contribute to research and development in India.

It will be implemented by a statutory bodycalled Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB).

Public funded academic institutions and national laboratories are eligible to host the VAJRA Faculty.

The Faculty can also be allowed to participate in other academic activities as agreed to by the host institution and the Faculty.

The residency period of the VAJRA Faculty in India would be for a minimum of 1 month and a maximum of 3 months a year.