UPSC Eligibility Criteria

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts various exams for recruitment to several central government posts. Here we are going to list the eligibility for prelim examinations of UPSC.


1) For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
2) For other services, a candidate must be either :
(a) a citizen of India, or
(b) a subject of Nepal, or
(c) a subject of Bhutan, or
(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently.

Age Limit

The age limit varies according to various categories as follows:
1) Minimum age – 21 years (For all categories)
2) Maximum age

  1. General – 32 years
  2. OBC – 35 years
  3. SC/ST – 37 years
  4. Physically disabled persons (Blind, deaf­mute and orthopaedically handicapped persons) – 42 years
  5. If a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January, 1980 to the 31st December, 1989 – 37 years

The date of birth, accepted by the Commission is that entered in the Matriculation or Secondary School Leaving Certificate or in a certificate recognized by a University in India.

Educational Qualifications:

To appear in UPSC Civil Services Examination a candidate should possess a degree from a recognized University.

Candidates who have passed the final professional M.B.B.S. or any other Medical Examination but have not completed their internship by the time of submission of their applications for the Civil Services (Main) Examination, will be provisionally admitted to the Examination provided they submit along with their application a copy of certificate from the concerned authority of the University/Institution that they had passed the requisite final professional medical examination.

Number of Attempts

The number of attempts varies as follows:

  • a) General – 6 attempts
  • b) OBC – 9 attempts
  • c) SC/ST – Not applicable (Unlimited attempts)
  • d) Physically disabled persons
  • – General category:9 attempts
  • – OBC – 9 attempts
  • – SC/ST: Not applicable (Unlimited attempts)

A candidate who is appointed to the Indian Administrative Service or the Indian Foreign Service on the results of an earlier examination and continues to be a member of that service will not be eligible to compete at this examination.

A candidate who is appointed to the Indian Police Service on the results of an earlier examination and continues to be a member of that service will not be eligible to opt for the Indian Police Service in Civil Services Examination.

Exam Fee

Candidates (excepting Female/SC/ST/Persons with Benchmark Disability Candidates who are exempted from payment of fee) are required to pay a fee of Rs. 100/-

Candidates admitted to the Main Examination will be required to pay a further fee of Rs. 200/- (Rupees Two hundred only.

Where to Apply

The applicant can apply online using the website