It was an echo of the Anglo-French struggle in Europe. In Europe, when Austria wanted to recover Silesia in 1756, the Seven Year’s War (1756-63) started. Britain and France were once again on opposite sides.

It was a decisive war known for the Battle of Wandiwash which was won by the British in 1760.

Although the Treaty of Peace of Paris (1763) restored to the French their factories in India, the French political influence disappeared after the war. Thereafter, the French, like their Portuguese and Dutch counterparts in India, confined themselves to their small enclaves and to commerce.

Battle of Wandiwash

  • The Battle of Wandiwash took place in 1760 in India between the French and the British.
  • The battle took place as part of the Third Carnatic War, which was fought between the French and British colonial empires and was part of the worldwide Seven Years’ War.
  • It happened at Vandavasi, Tamil Nadu. After making significant advances in Bengal and Hyderabad, the British were well-equipped to meet the French at Wandiwash, whom they destroyed.
  • The English won the crucial battle of the Third Carnatic War on January 22, 1760 at Wandiwash (or Vandavasi) in Tamil Nadu.
  • The French, led by Comte de Lally, were hampered by a lack of naval support and finances, so they sought to retake Vandavasi, now in Tamil Nadu.
  • While attempting to do so, they were assaulted by British forces led by Sir Eyre Coote, and the French were decisively destroyed in the subsequent fight.
  • As a result of the fight, the French in South India were confined to Pondicherry, where they surrendered on 22 January 1761, under the command of commander Marquis de Bussy-Castelnau.
  • One of the factors that prompted France to sign the Treaty of Paris was the collapse of the French position in India, which reduced the French to nothing more than traders in that nation and ultimately ended further French imperial ambitions in that country.
  • Britain, on the other hand, consolidated its dominance over other European nations in India during this conflict.


Who is the winner of the third Carnatic war?

The Third Carnatic War (1756-1763) was a decisive win for the English. It established English supremacy over the French in Indian Subcontinent. In the end, a treaty-Treaty of Paris was signed, which allowed the French to have their factories in India but forbade them from administering them.

Who fought the 3rd Carnatic War?

The Third Carnatic War was one of the series of wars fought in the middle of the 18th century in the coastal Carnatic region. It was fought between the British and the French from 1758 – 1763.

Where was the third Carnatic start?

In 1760, a decisive battle was fought at Wandiwash in Tamil Nadu. British defeated French Army under Count de Lally after a huge fight. The French Army surrendered in 1761.

Which Treaty ended Third Carnatic War?

The war concluded with the signing of the Treaty of Paris in 1763.

Why was the Third Carnatic War fought?

The reason for Third Carnatic War – The desire to control trade and political power in India was the driving force behind the conflict between the French and the English that resulted in three Carnatic wars.

What was the capital of the Carnatic War?

Arcot was the capital of the Carnatic War.

Further Reading: