It is to identify and develop pilgrimage tourist destination on the principles of high tourist visits, competetiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities.

Under the PRASAD scheme thirteen sites have been identified for development, namely: Amritsar, Ajmer, Dwaraka, Mathura, Varanasi, Gaya, Puri, Amaravati, Kanchipuram, Vellankanni, Kedarnath, Kamakhya and Patna.

Under the ‘PRASAD’ scheme the focus is on development and beautification of the identified pilgrimage destinations.

Whereas, in the ‘Spiritual Circuit’ identified under the SwadeshDarshan scheme, the thrust is on development of particular thematic circuit consisting of various religious/ spiritual destination in a State and Union Territory.

NoteHRIDAY Cities covers all PRASAD sites except Kedarnath and Kamakhya and instead it includes Warangal, Badami and Patna. HRIDAY comes under the Ministry of Urban Developmen