This Day in History on 15 August

The historical events hold a lot of value for aspirants who are sitting for UPSC competitive exams including that of the IAS Exam.

On this page, we will list all historical events that have occurred on 15 August. The students can refer them while preparing for all competitive exams and banking exams.

Important Days

Independence Day, celebrates the independence of India from the United Kingdom in 1947.

Important Events

2007 – An 8.0-magnitude earthquake off the Pacific coast devastates Ica and various regions of Peru killing 514 and injuring 1,090.

2013 – At least 27 people are killed and 226 injured in an explosion in southern Beirut near a complex used by Lebanon’s militant group Hezbollah in Lebanon. A previously unknown Syrian Sunni group claims responsibility in an online video.

2013 – The Smithsonian announces the discovery of the olinguito, the first new carnivorous species found in the Americas in 35 years.

2015 – North Korea moves its clock back half an hour to introduce Pyongyang Time, 8​1⁄2 hours ahead of UTC.

Birth/Birth Anniversary

1798 – Sangolli Rayanna, Indian warrior (d. 1831)

1872 – Sri Aurobindo, Indian guru, poet, and philosopher (d. 1950)

1873 – Ramaprasad Chanda, Indian archaeologist and historian (d. 1942)

1938 – Pran Kumar Sharma, Indian cartoonist (d. 2014)

1947 – Rakhee Gulzar, Indian film actress

1958 – Simple Kapadia, Indian actress and costume designer (d. 2009)

1961 – Suhasini Maniratnam, Indian actress and screenwriter

1971 – Adnan Sami, Indian singer, musician, music composer, pianist and actor

1975 – Vijay Bharadwaj, Indian cricketer and coach

1992 – Baskaran Adhiban, Indian chess player

Death/ Death Anniversary

1942 – Mahadev Desai, Indian activist and author (b. 1892)

2004 – Amarsinh Chaudhary, Indian politician, 8th Chief Minister of Gujarat (b. 1941)

2005 – Bendapudi Venkata Satyanarayana, Indian dermatologist and academic (b. 1927)

Futher Reading

Month-wise This Day in History