On this page, we have listed all the nationalised banks in India, along with important dates.

 List of Banks in India
Bank Name Head Quarter Established
State Bank of India – Pure Banking nothing else, “With you – all the way”, and “A Bank of common man” Mumbai 1955
 Allahabad Bank – “A tradition of trust”
Allahabad Bank is the oldest Joint Stock Bank of India.
 Kolkata 1865
Andhra Bank – For all your needs
It is founded by freedom fighter Mr.B.P. Sitaramaya. The bank has more than 1632 branches
 Hyderabad 1923
Bank of Baroda – India’s International Bank
BOB was founded by Maharaja of Baroda Sir Sayajrao Gaekwad – III. The bank has more than 3409 branches.
 Vadodara 1908
Bank of India – “Rishton Ki Jamapunji”  Mumbai 1906
Bank of Maharashtra
It has the largest number of branches by any public sector financial institute in Maharashtra. The bank has more than 1375 branches in India.
 Pune 1935
Canara Bank – “Together we can” Bangalore 1906
Central Bank of India –   Mumbai 1911
Corporation Bank – India’s Most Customer Friendly Bank  Mangalore  1906
Indian Bank – Your tech. friendly bank  Chennai 1907
Indian Overseas Bank – Good people to grow with  Chennai 1937
Oriental Bank of Commerce – Where every individual is committed  New Delhi 1943
Punjab & Sind Bank – “Where service is way of life”
Founding fathers are Bhai Vir Singh, Sir Sunder Singh Majithia, Sardar Tarlochan Singh.
 New Delhi 1908
Punjab National Bank – “The name you can bank upon”
It is an Indigenous bank of India and 2nd largest Comm. Bank of India
 New Delhi 1894
Syndicate Bank – Faithful Friendly  Manipal 1925
UCO (United Commercial Bank) – “Trust and Excellence since 1904”  Kolkata 1943
Union Bank of India – “Good people to bank with”
Mahatma Gandhi inaugurated.
 Mumbai 1919
United Bank of India – “The Bank That Begins With ‘U’” Kolkata
Vijaya Bank – “A friend you can bank upon”  Bangalore 1931
Reserve Bank of India
Head Quarter: Mumbai
Established  1935 by RBI Act 1934
Nationalised:  1949

Formulates, implements and monitors the monetary policy, Regulates and supervise the financial system, Regulates and supervise the payment systems, Manages the Foreign Exchange, Issue Currency, Promotes national objectives, Short terms loans to Govt. under ways and means advances.

State Bank of India

SBI Slogans: Pure Banking nothing else, “With you – all the way”, and “A Bank of common man”.

Head Quarter: Mumbai
Established 1921
Nationalised: 1955 (Imperial Bank of India was converted into SBI)

It was the 1st Joint Stock Bank of British India. The Bank of Bengal, Bank of Bombay and Bank of Madras were amalgamated on 27th Jan 1921 to form Imperial Bank of India. It was converted into SBI in 1955.  More 7 subsidiary were added in the year 1959. The State Bank of Saurashtra was merged in 2008 and State Bank of Indore was merged in 2010. At present, the SBI is having 5 Associate Banks.  SBI is the 3rd largest employer in India after Coal India and TCS (among listed companies).
SBI are more than 43000 ATMs, 15143 Branches and 170 overseas branches in 34 nations.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *