The Indira Gandhi Prize or the Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development is the prestigious award accorded annually by Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust to individuals or organisations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order; ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom.

The prize carries a cash award of 2.5 million Indian rupees and a citation. A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration, should have been published.

The panel constituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust consists of prominent national and international personalities including previous recipients. The recipients are chosen from a pool of national and international nominees.

The Indira Gandhi Prize First awarded in 1986.

1986Parliamentarians for Global Action –International Organisation of Parliamentarians
1987Mikhail Gorbachev Soviet UnionFormer Soviet Union Leader
1988Gro Harlem Brundtland NorwayFormer Prime Minister of Norway
1989UNICEF United NationsUnited Nations Children’s Emergency Fund
1990Sam Nujoma NamibiaFirst President of Namibia
1991Rajiv Gandhi IndiaFormer Prime Minister of India (posthumous)
1992Saburo OkitaJapanese Economist
1993Václav Havel Czech Republic1st President of the Czech Republic
1994Trevor Huddleston United KingdomAnti-Apartheid Activist
1995Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria12th President of Nigeria
1996Médecins Sans FrontièresVoluntary Organisation
1997Jimmy Carter United States39th President of the United States
1998Muhammad Yunus BangladeshFounder of Grameen Bank
1999M S Swaminathan IndiaIndian Agricultural Scientist
2000Mary Robinson Ireland7th President of Ireland
2001Sadako Ogata JapanFormer United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
2002Shridath Ramphal Guyana2nd Commonwealth Secretary-General
2003Kofi Annan Ghana7th United Nations Secretary General
2004Maha Chakri Sirindhorn ThailandPrincess of Thailand
2005Hamid Karzai Afghanistan12th President of Afghanistan
2006Wangari Maathai KenyaEnvironmental and Political activist
2007Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation United StatesCharitable Foundation
2008Mohamed ElBaradei Egypt4th Director General of the IAEA
2009Sheikh Hasina BangladeshPrime Minister of Bangladesh
2010Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva BrazilEx-President of Brazil
2011Ela Bhatt IndiaFounder of SEWA
2012Ellen Johnson Sirleaf LiberiaPresident of Liberia
2013Angela Merkel GermanyChancellor of Germany
2014Indian Space Research Organisation IndiaIndian Space Agency
2015UNHCR United NationsUnited Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
2017Manmohan Singh IndiaFormer Prime Minister, Finance Minister, and Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
2018Centre for Science and EnvironmentNot-for-profit public interest research and advocacy organisation based in New Delhi, India.
2019Sir David Attenborough United KingdomWorld renowned English broadcaster and natural historian