The total number of railway zones is 18, newly is South Coast Railway (HQ Visakhapatnam) and the largest Railway Zone is North Zone.

Indian Railways Zone, Headquarters & Divisions
Sr NoIndian Railway ZoneHeadquarters  Divisions
1.Northern Railway (Largest)Baroda House, New Delhi1) Delhi-I 2) Delhi-II 3) Ambala 4) Moradabad 5) Lucknow 6) Firozpur
2.North Eastern RailwayGorakhpur1) Izzatnagar 2) Lucknow 3) Varanasi 4) DLW
3.Northeast Frontier Railway (Smallest)Maligaon, Guwahati1) Katihar 2) Alipurduar 3) Rangiya 4) Lumding 5) Tinsukhia
4.Eastern RailwayKolkata1) Howrah-I 2) Howrah-II 3) Sealdah 4) Malda 5) Asansol 6) Chitaranjan 7) Kolkata Metro
5.South Eastern RailwayGarden Reach, Kolkata1) Kharagpur 2) Adra 3) Chakradharpur 4) Ranchi 5) Shalimar
6.South Central RailwaySecunderabad1) Secunderabad 2) Hyderabad 3) Guntakal 4) Vijaywada 5) Nanded
7.Southern RailwayChennai1) Chennai 2) Madurai 3) Palghat 4) Trichy 5) Trivendrum
8.Central RailwayMumbai1) Mumbai 2) Nagpur 3) Bhusawal 4) Pune 5) Sholapur
9.Western RailwayChurchgate, Mumbai1) BCT 2) Vadodara 3) Ahemdabad 4) Ratlam 5) Rajkot 6) Bhavnagar
10.South Western RailwayHubli1) Bangalore 2) Mysore 3) Hubli 4) RWF/YNK
11.North Western RailwayJaipur1) Jaipur 2) Jodhpur 3) Bikaner 4) Ajmer
12.West Central RailwayJabalpur1) Jabalpur 2) Bhopal 3) Kota
13.North Central RailwayAllahabad1) Allahabad 2) Jhansi 3) Agra
14.South East Central RailwayBilaspur1) Bilaspur 2) Nagpur 3) Raipur
15.East Coast RailwayBhubaneshwar1) Khurda Road 2) Waltair 3) Sambhalpur
16.East Central RailwayHajipur1) Danapur 2) Mugalsarai 3) Dhanbad 4) Sonpur 5) Samastipur
17.Kolkata MetroKolkata
18South Coast RailwayVisakhapatnam1) Waltair (Visakhapatnam) 2) Vijayawada 3) Guntakal 3) Guntur
Indian Railway Zone, headquarters and their divisions

The first train in India was started by Lord Dalhousie on April 16, 1853 from Bombay to thane (34 Kms)

It is the largest Railway Network in Asia and the second-largest in the world.

The slogan of Indian Railway: Lifeline of the Nation

Indian Railways has a mascot – Bholu, the Guard Elephant.

The northernmost railway station is Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir.

Westernmost is Naliya near Bhuj in Gujarat.

The southernmost railway station is Kanyakumari,

Eastmost of India is Ledo on branch line from Tinsukia.

The longest Tunnel is Pir Panjal Railway Tunnel 11.215 km.

Ahmedabad Mumbai Central Double Decker Express is India’s first double Decker train.

Indian Railways launched an awareness campaign train on World AIDS Day, December 1, 2007, called the Red Ribbon Express.

Longest rail route in India:- From Dibrugarh (Assam) To Kanyakumari (Vivek express Train) 4273 Km.

The Fairy Queen between New Delhi and Alwar in Rajasthan is the oldest functioning steam engine in the world.

First monorail operate in India – From Sarhind to Alampur and Bhawani mandi to Patiala.

The biggest Electrical loco shade is situated at Mughal Sarai (Uttar Pradesh).

Shatabdi Express began for the first time between two stations Between New Delhi to Jhansi On 10, July 1988.

First Rajdhani Express ran between two stations New Delhi–Howrah on 1st March 1969.

The world’s longest railway platform is in India at Gorakhpur.

The train that runs between India and Pakistan is Samjhauta Express.

Train running between India and Bangladesh is Maitree Express.

The highest railway station in India is Ghum railway station (West Bengal).

The Longest Railway bridge in India is Vembanad Rail Bridge (Vallarpadam Bridge) 4.62km (kerala).

The fastest train in India: Gatiman express which run between Delhi to Agra (160km/h).

New Delhi-Bhopal Shatabdi Express is the second fastest train in India maximum speed of 150km/h

Slowest train in India: Metupalayam Ooty Nilgiri Passenger (10kmph).

Shortest run by train: Nagpur and Ajni stations are situated just 3km from each other.

The First Electric coach Train ran on the 3rd February 1925 between Bombay VT and Kurla stations.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

IR has two UNESCO World Heritage Sites:

  • The Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, Mumbai and
  • The mountain railways of India.

The latter are three rail lines in different parts of India:

  • The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, a 610 mm (2 ft) narrow-gauge railway in the Lesser Himalayas of West Bengal;
  • The Nilgiri Mountain Railway, a 1,000 mm (3 ft 3 3⁄8 in) metre gauge rack railway in the Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu and
  • The Kalka-Shimla Railway, is a 762 mm (2 ft 6 in) narrow-gauge railway in the Siwalik Hills of Himachal Pradesh.

The eight manufacturing plants of the Indian Railways, called Production Units, are managed directly by the ministry. The Production Units are

Sr NoProduction unitsLocation
1.Chittaranjan Locomotive WorksChittaranjan (West Bangal)
2.Diesel Locomotive WorksVaranasi (Uttar Pradesh)
3.Diesel Loco Modernisation WorksPatiala (Panjab)
4.Rail Coach FactoryKapurthala (Panjab)
5.Integral Coach FactoryChennai (Tamilnadu)
6.Rail Wheel FactoryBangalore (Karnataka)
7.Rail Wheel PlantBela in Chhapra (Bihar)
8.Modern Coach FactoryRaebareli (Uttar Pradesh)
The manufacturing plants of the Indian Railways

Other independent units of Indian Railways are:

1.Central Organisation For Railway ElectrificationAllahabad
2.Central Organisation For Modernisation of WorkshopsNew Delhi
The independent units of Indian Railways