This year, the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards was different courtesy the coronavirus pandemic.

The award ceremony, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel at the Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles, saw the winners accepting their awards virtually. 

Best Comedy“Schitt’s Creek” (Pop)
Best Drama“Succession” (HBO)
Best Limited Series“Watchmen” (HBO)
Best Actress, ComedyCatherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”
Best Actor, ComedyEugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”
Best Actress, DramaZendaya, “Euphoria”
Best Actor, DramaJeremy Strong, “Succession”
Best Actress, Limited Series or TV MovieRegina King, “Watchmen”
Best Actor, Limited Series or TV MovieMark Ruffalo, “I Know This Much Is True”
Supporting Actress, ComedyAnnie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”
Supporting Actor, ComedyDaniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”  
Supporting Actress, Drama Julia Garner, “Ozark”
Supporting Actor, DramaBilly Crudup, “The Morning Show”
Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a MovieUzo Aduba, “Mrs. America”
Supporting Actor, Limited Series or MovieYahya Abdul-Mateen II, “Watchmen”
*Television Movie“Bad Education” (HBO)
*Variety Sketch Series“Saturday Night Live” (NBC)  
Variety Talk Series“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)
Reality Competition Program“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)
*Reality HostRuPaul, “Drag Race”  
*Structured Reality Program“Queer Eye” (Netflix)
Unstructured Reality Program“Cheer” (Netflix)
*Guest Actress, ComedyMaya Rudolph, “Saturday Night Live”
Guest Actor, ComedyEddie Murphy, “Saturday Night Live”  
Guest Actress, DramaCherry Jones, “Succession”
Guest Actor, DramaRon Cephas Jones, “This Is Us”
Documentary or Nonfiction Series“The Last Dance” (ESPN)
Documentary or Nonfiction Special“The Apollo” (HBO)
Animated Program“Rick and Morty” (Adult Swim)  
Writing for a Comedy SeriesDaniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending”)
Writing for a Drama SeriesJesse Armstrong, “Succession” (“This Is Not for Tears”)  
Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson, “Watchmen” (“This Extraordinary Being”)
Directing for a Comedy SeriesAndrew Cividino and Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending”)  
Directing for a Drama SeriesAndrij Parekh, “Succession” (“Hunting”)  
Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama SpecialMaria Schrader, “Unorthodox”
Directing for a Variety SeriesDon Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” (“Host: Eddie Murphy”)