The Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize awarded annually by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.

It is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829) and directly modeled after the Nobel Prizes.

It comes with a monetary award of 7.5 million Norwegian Kroner (NOK), award prize money enhanced from 6 million NOK to 7.5 million NOK in 2019.

2003Jean-Pierre Serre France
2004Michael Atiyah

Isadore Singer
 United Kingdom

 United States
2005Peter Lax Hungary /  United States
2006Lennart Carleson Sweden
2007S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan India /  United States
2008John G. Thompson

Jacques Tits
 United States

 Belgium /  France
2009Mikhail Gromov Russia /  France
2010John Tate United States
2011John Milnor United States
2012Endre Szemerédi Hungary /  United States
2013Pierre Deligne Belgium
2014Yakov Sinai Russia /  United States
2015John F. Nash Jr.

Louis Nirenberg
 United States

 Canada /  United States
2016Andrew Wiles United Kingdom
2017Yves Meyer France
2018Robert Langlands Canada /  United States
2019Karen Uhlenbeck United States
2020Hillel Furstenberg

Grigory Margulis
 Israel /  United States

 Russia /  United States